Smith and Warner Banned for 12 Months from playing cricket for Australia And IPL.


On Tuesday, Steve Smith and David Warner were banned for 12 months by Cricket Australia following the ball-tampering scandal during the Cape Town Test against South Africa. Cameron Bancroft is also banned for nine months. Smith and Warner have already stepped down from their IPL captaincy roles. The Sydney Morning Herald reported “Cricket Australia Chief Executive James Sutherland met the players at their hotel in Johannesburg’s Sandton district to tell them their fate before they flew back to Australia”

Initially, Smith was banned only for one match by the cricket governing body ICC and was also fined for breaching the code of conduct. His team-mate Cameron Bancroft was caught on camera tampering with the ball on the third day of the Newlands Test, also got 75 percent fine and three demerit points.

After the decision of Cricket Australia, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has taken a decision on not letting Smith and Warner play in the IPL-11 season. But according to the sources received, “after the sentence was announced, Steven Smith and David Warner are not willing to play in the IPL 2018.”

Smith and Warner were already asked to step down as captain and vice-captain respectively by Sutherland after they admitted that Australia’s ‘leadership group’ orchestrated the plan.

Smith was appointed as a full-time captain of the Australian cricket team after the team lost the Ashes 2-3 to England under the leadership of Michael Clarke.

Smith has led Australia in 34 Tests and took his team to victories on 18 occasions. Australia has lost 10 Tests and draw 6 under Smith’s leadership.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *